Your cart is empty.
Refractions: Scenes

Table of contents


Introduction: Six Directions That Tell Us Where We Are


George Boyd | Consecrated Ground

Daniel David Moses | Brébeuf’s Ghost

Lisa Codrington | Up the Garden Path

Raes Calvert and Sean Harris Oliver | REDPATCH

Leah Simone Bowen | The Flood


Marjorie Chan | a nanking winter

Wajdi Mouawad, translated by Linda Gaboriau | Scorched / Incendies

Anosh Irani | The Men in White

Carmen Aguirre | The Refugee Hotel

Anusree Roy | Trident Moon

Ahmed Ghazali, translated by Bobby Theodore | The Sheep and the Whale / Le Mouton et la baleine


David Yee | paper SERIES

Dionne Brand | thirsty

d-lishus | Inna di Wardrobe

Mishka Lavigne | Albumen

Suvendrini Lena | The Enchanted Loom

Rob Salerno | RAW


Leonard Linklater | Justice

Reneltta Arluk | Pawâkan ᒪᒋᑯᓯᓵᐣ

Mike Czuba | Reprise

Audrey Dwyer | Calpurnia

Michaela Washburn and Carrie Costello | Water Under the Bridge


Patti Flather | Paradise

Joel Fishbane | In the Yichud Room

Michaela di Cesare | Successions

Christine Quintana, translated by Gilles Poulin-Denis | Selfie / Selfie

Evan Tsitsias | Aftershock

Colleen Murphy | I Hope My Heart Burns First


Marie Clements | The Unnatural and Accidental Women

Ciarán Myers | Coffee Bombs

Frances Koncan | zahgidiwin/love


Refractions: Scenes is a collection of scenes from diverse contemporary works by Canadian playwrights that reflect the country’s artistic landscape through a breadth of themes, styles, cultures, regions, and creative practices.

This collection can be used both as a source for actors and students, or as a primer on diverse Canadian theatre and an entry point into new works. Includes work by Carmen Aguirre, Reneltta Arluk, Leah Simone Bowen, George Boyd, Dionne Brand, Raes Calvert, Marjorie Chan, Marie Clements, Lisa Codrington, Carrie Costello, Mike Czuba, Michaela di Cesare, d-lishus, Audrey Dwyer, Joel Fishbane, Patti Flather, Linda Gaboriau, Ahmed Ghazali, Anosh Irani, Frances Koncan, Mishka Lavigne, Suvendrini Lena, Leonard Linklater, Daniel David Moses, Wajdi Mouawad, Colleen Murphy, Ciarán Myers, Sean Harris Oliver, Gilles Poulin-Denis, Christine Quintana, Anusree Roy, Rob Salerno, Bobby Theodore, Evan Tsitsias, Michaela Washburn, and David Yee.