Your cart is empty.

About Us

Playwrights Canada Press is a publisher of new Canadian plays. We exist to publish Canadian plays as well as, from time to time, theatre history, criticism, and biography. Through this we endeavour to raise the profile of Canadian theatre and theatre practitioners, promote dramatic literature, and contribute to the Canadian theatrical canon. Playwrights Canada Press strives to publish diverse and engaging Canadian plays and dramatic criticism of literary merit.

Playwrights Canada Press was created in 1984 as an imprint of the professional association of Canadian playwrights, the Playwrights Guild of Canada. In 2000 the Press was separately incorporated from the Guild and is a standalone independent publishing company.

For the first ten years of its existence, the Press published four to six titles of English-Canadian drama annually. We now publish roughly thirty books of plays, theatre history, and criticism each year. While located in Ontario, the Press is proud of its list of published playwrights which stretches from Newfoundland to British Columbia and the Yukon. Playwrights Canada Press also publishes French plays by Canadian authors in English translation, and includes theatre for young audiences.

Playwrights Canada Press is a member of the Association of Canadian Publishers, the Literary Press Group, the Ontario Book Publishers Organization, the Canadian Association for Theatre Research, the American Society for Theatre Research, and the Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas.

Our Board of Directors

Colleen Murphy, President, Toronto, ON
Michelle Kneale, Vice President & PGC Representative, Langley, BC
Bilal Baig, Treasurer, Toronto, ON
Josh Languedoc, Secretary, Edmonton, AB
Shauntay Grant, Member at Large, Halifax, NS
Judy Wensel, Member at Large, Regina, SK

Our Editorial Committee

Dian Marie Bridge
Davey Samuel Calderon
Santiago Guzmán
Jenna Rodgers
Deneh’Cho Thompson