Your cart is empty.
Chekhov: Four Plays

Chekhov: Four Plays

By Anton Chekhov
Translated by Stephen Mulrine
Series: Drama Classic Collections
Imprint: Nick Hern Books
Paperback : 9781854598455, 320 pages, October 2005


A physician by trade, Anton Chekhov was the author of many plays and short stories, and is widely regarded as the most notable dramatist writing at the turn of the twentieth century.

His four greatest tragicomedies – The SeagullUncle VanyaThree Sisters and The Cherry Orchard – enshrine his status as one of the founding fathers of psychological realism and early modernism in European theatre.

This volume collects these four plays in sensitive and playable translations made direct from the original Russian, along with a full introduction to Chekhov, his times and his work.